Sitting It Out?

I’ve been recently hit with a double whammy – asthma and really bad weather. I’ve been forced by circumstances to sit out some of my regular walking time. I’m rebelling!

This is just not me! I admit to having spent the better part of a week sitting. It’s awful. I hate it. My across-the-street family was out of town for a few days, relieving me of childcare responsibilities (fortunately) and I took full opportunity to indulge myself.

Not that I enjoyed it. Coughing and taking asthma medications is not my idea of self-indulgence. These meds have obnoxious side effects for me. But, I’ve had more than 40 years of experience using a nebulizer machine and inhalers, etc so I do what I must. Minimally.

Even with all of this. Even with. I drove myself to the mall and walked around a couple times. I did! One day, a friend met me at Ikea and we walked there. My outside walks with friends have been slow, with frequent stops so I can rest up. These walks barely count, if you’re counting walks. The step counts are unimpressive. But, I got off my bottom and moved. Ultimately, I felt better for having done so. Yes, mask. Yes, mask. Yes, mask.

With asthma, one takes short, shallow breaths. The problem is getting the air sacs in the lungs to release the used air. (If you want a real explanation, go here.) There are several treatments one can do for oneself to assist in deeper breathing. I used to hold up my finger and call it a birthday candle and have my little kids blow it out. Have to take a deep breath to do that, right? Kids love birthday candles! Even a feeble walk will eventually make one take a deeper breath, especially if you are aware and you work at it a bit. That’s what I did.

No hills. No frills. No speed. No challenges. Just a simple stroll. Talking means coughing.

When you walk the Twelve Steps (as I continue to do), you are reminded always that This Too Shall Pass. Keep walking.

Posted on August 23, 2021, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment